First day, First experience

“It is the office of the parent to train the child to independence. As the schoolmaster’s aim ought to be to train his pupils to a stage where they are able to face the work of life without any more help from him, so parents have to recognize that there is a point at which their commands must cease and their children be allowed to choose and act for themselves”. 
(James Stalker)

Well now is new year.. 2012.. Both my sons will go to school. Last year I still have TT who accompanied me at home while his brother was in the school.

Yes, Yes, I am glad knowing TT goes to school already 🙂 It means he is bigger now. He is not a baby anymore. He has his friends at school, he starts to play and study with his friends everyday. But I am all alone at home.

His first day went very smooth. I am glad that he was doing ok in his class. He also gets JJ’s teacher when JJ was in Nursery 1 (Playgroup).

He takes the school bus together with JJ. Two days before school start, the school bus attendance called me to make sure if JJ and TT will be with her again in the school bus.

JJ told me that he will take care his brother in the school bus and will make sure that TT will go into his class before he goes to his class 😀 My husband and I were in the school as well, but we watched from far, make sure he is doing ok. I saw that 80% of Nursery 1 (playgroup) students were accompanied by their parents even in the class and some of them were crying.

After the class end, TT came back with JJ together by the school bus, and I asked the teacher about him for his first day. His teacher said that I don’t have to be worry because he is very steady. He wants to play and hold hand together with his friends which is not every kids is willing to do so. I am glad to hear that.

After school, I pick them up downstair and I told TT that tomorrow I will go to his school. With his firm tone, he answered me, “No, I don’t want. JJ and TT and Auntie Jojo (The school bus attendance) go to school, Papa go  to office and Mama stay at home!”

The reason why we put them in the school bus, because we want them to be independent, therefore we also tried not to accompany TT on his first day of his school. Well, I realize that my sons, both are big already 🙂

One more thing that make me glad is that, I went to the school together with my husband and he hold my hand. Well, most of the time we hold our kids’ hand 😀 We also plan to go to have breakfast together once the kids go to school.

Thanks be to God for this family, though it is not a perfect family, but I can see and feel the inclusion and the blessing of God for this family.

How about yours? Do you still remember your experience when your kids first time go to school? Or may be your kids just start their school this year? How do/did you feel? 

8 comments

    1. Yes, he really can take care of his brother and sometime even take care my friend’s kids 😀
      He is very proud for being a being a big brother 😀

    1. Hi Suzi, I am glad I can bring back a beautiful memories to you 🙂
      Maybe all the big brothers/sisters have similar characteristics that protect their younger siblings, do you think so? He will feel proud when he can show me that he protects his younger brother 😀

  1. Nice story fong , u’re children are nice ,
    I’m so glad n happy read u’re story about anything 
    So, keep doing this, i give u jempolll 
    Hahahaha 

Leave a Reply

